Month: May 2022

Rating System

Am I too quick to five stars? Do I write reviews too quickly after reading books, and unjustly rate? Those are all possibilities I need to take into consideration. I have come to realize I need a rating system, and I will explain below what each star rating will mean below.

In addition to a rating system, I’ve realized I shouldn’t get too excited and write reviews right away. It has occurred to me that in writing a review directly after finishing a book, especially books that I truly enjoyed, I have been rating and reviewing books and then realizing flaws after the book and story has sunk in. I have decided to write my reviews at least 24 hours after finishing a book, to try to fairly rate. I have also begun taking notes about books as I read them so I can look back at how I felt throughout the whole story, and not just at the end.

So, without further ado, the new rating system. It will still be a star-based rating, but each rating will have meaning:

1 star: DNF. This is a book I could not finish, that the writing was poor, or I didn’t like the author’s style. This is a book I would not try again and an author I won’t give a second chance.

2 stars: DNF/almost DNF’d. This is a book that I could not finish, or almost couldn’t not finish, that I could see potential in. The story maybe wasn’t for me, but it was well written and a good plot.

3 stars: This is a book that is enjoyable, but nothing special. I was happy to read but didn’t feel like I couldn’t live without the story.

4 stars: This is a book that is amazing. I loved reading and wished I could keep reading even when I was doing other stuff.

5 stars: God tier. This is a book that changed my life. The kind that I wish I could step into or read again for the first time.

Book Haul (sorry babe)

Much to my boyfriend’s exasperation I have a book haul I would love to share with you guys! I’m hoping this haul will hold the answers to getting out of this reading slump. So without further ado, I present to you, my book haul:

The Shadow in the Glass: A gothic, dark retelling of Cinderella with a Victorian backdrop.

Second Star to the Left: A NA Peter Pan retelling that is a love story between Tink and Hook.

Bravely: A new YA story set after Disney’s Brave with a new adventure for Merida.

Book of Night: Holly Black’s debut adult novel, a dark fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.

Portrait of a Thief: A debut heist story that has Asian and LGTBQ+ characters.

Darling Girl: Another Peter Pan retelling that tells the story of Wendy’s granddaughter.

The Priory of the Orange Tree: A monster of a novel that’s an epic fantasy that focuses on women and their stories.

Kingdom of the Wicked: The first in a new NA trilogy by Kerri Maniscalco that tells the story of sisters, and what lines you would cross for those you love.

The Wilder Women: The newest book by the author of Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance about magical sisters looking for their lost mother.

Mistakes Were Made: A sapphic rom-com about embracing the unexpected.

As I said before, normally when I go on vacation, I pack a bag dedicated just to books, but I’m trying to be a little more practical. I think I want to bring 3-4 books, to give myself variety, and my Kindle. Now I know I said that I’m in the mood to read physical books only, but that could change at any time, plus having my Kindle gives me the opportunity to download any sequels if I need to.

So, the question becomes, what books do I bring with me? Do I want to bring some of the books I just got, or do I want to read something older from my TBR? I think the answer may be that I need to bring a mix. My head feels like maybe fantasy is the way to go, but I’ll bring at least one realistic with me in case I’m wrong. I’m starting to get really excited about my vacation now, and thinking about what books to pack is really putting me in the vacation mood. What do you think I should bring?

All books are tagged if you’re interested in purchasing! I got a few of these titles through Book of the Month. Book of the Month is a monthly subscription box where the reader gets to pick! Each month pick from 5-7 new titles, and then add from their hundreds of add-ons. Skip anytime, or pick up to 3 books each month. Sign up here for your first month to be only $5.

The Dreaded Reading Slump

We’re halfway through May and I’ve had a realization. I’m in a reading slump. I’ve barely read anything for a few months now, and when I am reading, I’m not being completely captured by the stories or the characters. Am I reading the wrong books or is it me?

Let’s see if we can break it down. I can really remember being absolutely enthralled by a book in February when I was reading House of Sky and Breath by Sarah J Maas. Is it possible that finishing that has put me in a slump? Absolutely, especially given the ending of that book. Since then, I’ve read a few really great books, one book that was enjoyable, and one book I couldn’t finish.

 I’m currently reading The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. It’s enjoyable and I can see why so many people like it, but once again I’m finding myself fine with putting the book down and not knowing when I’ll be able to pick it back up. I find myself questioning if I’m going to enjoy it enough to need to read the whole series right away, or will I pick up a something completely different after?

I leave for a week long vacation at the end of May. I would love to use that time to try and break out of this slump, but what will do it? Do I need to read a quick cute romance? Do I need an epic fantasy? The answer is I have no idea. Another thing that can put me in a slump is the format of what I’m reading. I go through phases of what I need to read, Kindle of physical. Recently, I’ve been very into reading physical books, but I’ve spent a week at my parents’ house and all I’ve really got is my Kindle. No matter how good the story is I won’t enjoy it if I’m not enjoying the format I’m reading on.

I need a plan before I leave, and I’ve got a week to pack my bags. Usually, I bring a bag just for books to bring on vacation. I’m trying to be more practical. I’m going to be gone a week, we won’t only be sitting by a pool, and I always visit Barritt’s Books and get books while I’m in Virginia Beach. Let’s see if I can figure this out before I go.

© 2024

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

Secured By miniOrange